We redesigned our database and categorised the universities by study areas. In the Comprehensive Universities category we listed the universities with wide profile, which offer courses in various study areas. The universities with simple profile are listed under the category of their main study area.

If you look for universities in a specific study area, please use the search module below to get results from every category.

Óbuda University
Budapest, Bécsi út 96/B

Óbuda (Old Buda) University is located in Budapest, Hungary. Our engineering and applied science departments and programs are among the nation’s oldest with 130 years of rich tradition.

The history of our school dates back to 1879, as the Public Secondary Industrial School of Budapest later operated under the name Hungarian Royal Public Higher Industrial School from 1898. The legendary Higher Industrial School – the Tech, as it became known internationally – set an example to successors by creating concordance between high-standard theoretical and practical training. Óbuda University is the legal successor of Budapest Tech. The most famous student was József Galamb, the chief designer of the Ford Motor company who devised many of the parts of the famous Ford Model T.

Our Engineering and Applied Science based departments are an open and welcoming community for all students, faculty, researchers and administrative staff. We are fortunate to attract students and faculty from diverse backgrounds, from across the country, and from around the world. It is a great benefit to be able to gather engineers and scientists of so many different perspectives and talents – all with a commitment to learning, a focus on pushing the frontiers of knowledge and discovery, and with a passion for translating our work to impact humanity.

Obuda University’s primary objective is to enhance leading-edge international research and higher education opportunities for current Hungarian and International students (BSc, MSc and PhD).  We offer our students a high quality practice and science based education to become strong research and technical management engineers.

Obuda University consists four (4) campuses in Budapest and one in Székesfehérvár (6) Faculties. The faculties include: (BGK) Donát Bánki Faculty of Mechatronics, Mechanical and Safety Engineering, (KVK) Kálmán Kando Faculty of Electrical Engineering, (KGK) Károly Keleti Faculty of Business and Management, (NIK) John von Neumann Faculty of Informatics, (RKK) Sándor Rejtő Faculty of Light Industry and Environmental Protection Engineering, and (TMPK) Ágoston Trefort Center for Engineering Education. The Doctoral Schools include: Doctoral School of Applied Informatics and Applied Mathematics, Doctoral School on Material Sciences and Technologies, and the Doctoral School on Safety and Security Sciences. (AMK) Alba Regia Technical Faculty (Szekesfehervar), and (SKK) Salgótarján Training and Research Center.

Campus Óbuda

Campus Óbuda can be found in the 3rd District, the Buda side of the city. It is located between Árpád Bridge and Margit Bridge, near Kolosy Square, the gateway to Óbuda.
John von Neumann Faculty of Informatics Faculty and Kálmán Kandó Faculty of Electrical Engineering Faculty are located at Bécsi út 96/b. Sándor Rejtő Faculty of Light Indrustry and Environmental Engineering is located directly behind the main building at Doberdó út 6.

John von Neumann Faculty of Informatics: 1034 Budapest, Bécsi út 96/b.
Kálmán Kandó Faculty of Electrical Engineering: 1034 Budapest, Bécsi út 94-96.
Sándor Rejtő Faculty of Light Indrustry and Environmental Engineering: 1034 Budapest, Doberdó út 6.

Trams: 17, 19, 41

Campus Józsefváros

Four faculties of Óbuda University are located in the 8th District, Józsefváros which is located in the Pest side of the city, near the Keleti railway station and Blaha Lujza Square. 
The Keleti Faculty of Business and Management and one of the buildings of the Kandó Kálmán Faculty of Electrical Engineering are located in Tavaszmező street 17. 
The Donát Bánki Faculty of Mechanical and Safety Engineering and Ágoston Trefort Centre for Engineering Education can also be found in the 8th District of Budapest, at Népszínház u. 8, close to Blaha Lujza Square.

Kálmán Kandó Faculty of Electrical Engineering: 1084 Budapest, Tavaszmező u. 15.

Keleti Faculty of Business and Management: 1084 Budapest, Tavaszmező u. 15-17.
Donát Bánki Faculty of Mechanical and Safety Engineering: 1081 Budapest, Népszínház u. 8.
Ágoston Trefort Centre for Engineering Education: 1081 Budapest, Népszínház u. 8.


Metro: M4
Tram: 4, 6   

Our programs in English

Undergraduate Programs Are Offered With Bachelor Of Science (BSc) Degrees:
Computer Science Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Environmental Engineering
Industrial Product Design Engineering
Mechatronics Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Technical Management

Graduate Programs With Master Of Science (MSc) Degrees:
Applied Mathematics
Computer Science Engineering
Mechatronics Engineering 

Doctoral Programs:
Doctoral School Of Applied Informatics And Applied Mathematics (A Joint Education Program With The Technical University Of Milano)
Doctoral School Of Materials Sciences And Technologies
Doctoral School Of Safety And Security Sciences

More information about the university :  www.uni-obuda.hu/en
More information about our programs: http://uni-obuda.hu/files/attachments/8518/bulletin.pdf
Our colleagues are always ready to help you, please send the e-mail:  international@uni-ouda.hu

  • English
  • Hungarian
Study area
  • Computer Science and Information Technology
  • Economic Science
  • Engineering Science
  • BA/BSc
  • MA/MSc/MBA
  • one-tier Master course